UCLA Department of Mathematics Graduation Celebration June 16, 2024

9:00 – 11:30 a.m. Drake Stadium

At the departmental ceremonies, graduates will have an opportunity to cross the stage when their name is read and thus receive individual recognition. After your name is read, you must return directly to your seat. That way, all graduates receive the same acknowledgement for their accomplishment from everyone in attendance. Graduates may not leave the event until all graduates have crossed the stage and the ceremony has been called to a close.

> <u>Welcome</u> Chandrashekhar Khare, Chair of Mathematics

<u>Guest Speaker</u>

Brian Lakamp (Executive Vice President, Media Supply Chain at Paramount)

Presentation of Departmental Awards

<u>Presentation of Outstanding Actuarial Science Student Award</u> Arman Bagi, Ryan Larson, Shannon Leo and Yanni Bills recognized by Moritz Voss

<u>Presentation of Outstanding Mathematics/Economics Student Award</u> Brianna Xie, Kevin Wong, Shukai Yin and Zhenye Yang recognized by Don Blasius

<u>Presentation of Sherwood Award</u> David Davini, Stephen Kelman and Zachary Tu recognized by Mason Porter

Presentation of Daus Award Erin O'Neil, Jonathn Chang, Ruibin Lyu, and Yifan Gu recognized by Sarah Tymochko

<u>Presentation of Pacific Journal of Mathematics Dissertation Prize</u> Aaron Anderson, Bohan Chen, Grace Li and Jerry Luo recognized by Don Blasius

> Presentation of Ph.D. Degree Candidates Chandrashekhar Khare & Inwon Kim

UCLA Department of Mathematics Graduation Celebration June 16, 2024 9:00 – 11:30 a.m.

At the departmental ceremonies, graduates will have an opportunity to cross the stage when their name is read and thus receive individual recognition. After your name is read, you must return directly to your seat. That way, all graduates receive the same acknowledgement for their accomplishment from everyone in attendance. Graduates may not leave the event until all graduates have crossed the stage and the ceremony has been called to a close.

Recognition of Achievements

<u>Tang and Scherm Centennial Award</u> Sarah Sotoudeh recognized by Michael Andrews

Specialization in Computing Students recognized by Michael Andrews

Girsky Award

Max Simon Steinberg and Hercy Shen recognized by Burt Totaro

Mathematics/Education Interns recognized by William Conley

Departmental Honors Students recognized by Marcus Roper Departmental Scholars Students recognized by Marcus Roper

> Presentation of Bachelor's Degree Candidates Chandrashekhar Khare & Marcus Roper

> > <u>Closing Remarks</u> Chandrashekhar Khare